FKA twigs has ended months of speculation by announcing details of her highly anticipated second album. Titled MAGDALENE, the album is released on 25th October 2019 and is the follow up to her critically acclaimed Brit Award and Mercury Prize nominated debut LP1 (2014, Young Turks).

Created in a period where her confidence was knocked following heartbreak and laparoscopic surgery, MAGDALENE is the sound of twigs reconfiguring, emotionally and physically. As she sings on ‘Mary Magdalene’, the MAGDALENE album track that opened her highly-praised, sold-out live shows earlier in the year, “A woman’s time / A woman’s work / A woman’s time to embrace / She must put herself first”.

MAGDALENE is produced by FKA twigs and, as with LP1, the recording process has been directed by her at every stage. It was recorded between London, New York and Los Angeles over the last three years and, as previously reported, features major contributions from Nicolas Jaar alongside a host of other collaborators. MAGDALENE sees FKA twigs creating a whole new artistic universe and it is, without doubt, her most masterful, innovative work to date.

“FKA Twigs didn’t just launch a sound, but a way of moving through it. The British singer, dancer and producer charges industrial noise with a titillating current, slinks around the dirty edges of pop, and contorts hymns to a slow-burning ecstasy. Her output has been sporadic, but nevertheless rich.” – NPR

“Since the start of her career, FKA twigs – less a singer than a very modern sort of audiovisual artist – has drawn on ballet and R&B, on fetishism and body modification. But nothing this outre tunesmith has done – not even her recent comeback single, Cellophane, and its eye-popping pole-dancing video – can quite prepare you for the start of this visually intoxicating comeback show.” – The Guardian

A note from FKA twigs “I never thought heartbreak could be so all-encompassing.I never thought that my body could stop working to the point that I couldn’t express myself physically in the ways that I have always loved and found so much solace.I have always practiced my way into being the best I could be, but I couldn’t do that this time, I was left with no option but to tear every process down. But the process of making this album has allowed me for the first time, and in the most real way, to find compassion when I have been at my most ungraceful, confused and fractured. I stopped judging myself and at that moment found hope in ‘Magdalene’. To her I am forever grateful” – FKA twigs, September 2019

SKU: 889030019127 Categories: ,


1. thousand eyes
2. home with you
3. sad day
4. holy terrain
5. mary magdalene
6. fallen alien
7. mirrored heart
8. daybed
9. cellophane

en_CAEnglish (Canada)
fr_CAFrançais du Canada en_CAEnglish (Canada)