Product description
Alan Jackson ~ When Somebody Loves You
In the decade since his debut, Alan Jackson has matured as both singer and songwriter while his resolute traditionalism remains unchanged. As usual, his original numbers account for the best moments, including the hit “www.memory” and heartland anthem “Where I Come From,” both outclassing the cartoonish non-original “It’s Alright to Be a Redneck,” yet another variation on Jeff Foxworthy’s tired comedic hook. Jackson’s masterful title track reiterates his genius with a ballad, as does his passionate interpretation of Robert Lee Castleman’s loungy “Maybe I Should Stay Here.” Don’t dare assume he’d tone down the acerbic commentaries he began on “Gone Country” and continued on “Murder on Music Row.” As roaring guitars battle traditional steel guitar, “Three Minute Positive Not Too Country Uptempo Love Song” allows Jackson to plunge his lyrical daggers into country radio consultants, whose soulless, analytical number-crunching determines who does–and doesn’t–get airplay. Jackson’s determination to confront Nashville’s marketing, fashion, and gimmickry obsessions reaffirm his own blue-collar grit. –Rich Kienzle

View Wishlist
SKU: 078636933528 Category:


1 Meat and Potato Man
2 When Somebody Loves You
3 The Thrill Is Back
4 www.memory
5 Where I Come From
6 I Still Love You
7 Life Or Love
8 A Love Like That
9 It’s Alright To Be A Redneck
10 Maybe I Should Stay Here
11 Three Minute Positive Not Too Country Up-tempo Love Song

en_CAEnglish (Canada)
fr_CAFrançais du Canada en_CAEnglish (Canada)