All the elements that made this rap star great are already in place on this authoritative debut, released when he was not even yet of drinking age. “Young Black Male” and “Trapped” exemplify his more overtly political style, later abandoned when he signed up with the Death Row label; “Crooked Ass Nigga” is the kind of violent gangsta-rap tune that made 2Pac a bogeyman to the genre’s foes. On “I Don’t Give a Fuck,” Shakur keeps his humor up while conveying the oppressive reaction a young black male encounters while performing the most mundane of tasks: buying some chips. “Brenda’s Got a Baby” is a cautionary tale that shows Shakur at his poetic best: evocative and sympathetic, never condescending. The energetic production by 2Pac’s Digital Underground pals is fully focused on unleashing his strengths rather than simply rehashing the successful DU sound. –Gregg Turkington

SKU: 012414163325 Categories: ,


1 Young Black Male 2:35
2 Trapped 4:44
3 Soulja’s Story 5:05
4 I Don’t Give A Fuck 4:20
5 Violent 6:26
6 Words Of Wisdom 4:54
7 Something Wicked 2:28
8 Crooked Ass Nigga 4:17
9 If My Homie Calls 4:18
10 Brenda’s Got A Baby 3:55
11 Tha’ Lunatic 3:29
12 Rebel Of The Underground 3:17
13 Part Time Mutha 5:14

en_CAEnglish (Canada)
fr_CAFrançais du Canada en_CAEnglish (Canada)